Starting a new (game) business

So, what have I learned during the five months Everyplay has been operational? What would I loved to have known before we founded the company? What would be helpful to would-be entrepreneurs? And how much could I cover in 40 minutes?

With those questions in mind I set out to share my thoughts and opinions on how to start a new game business for the good people at the Casual Connect Europe 2009 conference. I was given the prefix “Confessions” so I used Everyplay as an example case in the presentation. We are still in stealth mode, so for those of you looking to learn about what we are building, there are a few tidbits in the presentation ;-).

I had a great time giving the presentation and luckily quite a few people found it to be useful. My thanks to everybody who offered their kind words after the presentation!

confessions

I’ve included quite a few slide notes with the presentation for links to further information, interesting blogs and books. To access those, please download the presentation.

If you found the presentation useful, please share your thoughts in the comments!

P.S. Apologies for the crappy audio timings on the slidecast. After spending three hours battling with Slideshare’s buggy-beyond-belief slidecast tools, thus is the best that could be done.

Explore posts in the same categories: presentations

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Starting a new (game) business”


  1. Hi Jussi,

    Thanks for sharing your start up experiences There few topics I did not think about and you did great explaining its relevance for a startup company.

    I think your presentation is a great complement for the experience of 37 signals folks had also made public.

    https://gettingreal.37signals.com/

    Thanks!

    Fidel Vanegas


  2. Fidel, agreed, 37signals’ blog is really a great source of inspiration. I really appreciate how they often show “before” and “after” and the discussion and decisions what led to changing their designs or approaches. Very good stuff.


  3. Nice presentation. Thanks for sharing.
    Bye,
    http://twitter.com/alexnautilus

  4. Ada Chen Says:

    Jussi, great presentation! I wish I could have been there to watch it. Thanks for sharing your slides with us!


  5. Wow, thank you all for the kind words!

    I just also found out that the presentation is now featured on Slideshare’s homepage. \o/

  6. Tuomas Says:

    Excellent presentation, Jussi!

    Customer development is really cool thing, I’ve read the book cover to cover many times and I dig it! After watching your presentation, I spent 2-3 hours googling for customer development blogs / articles :)


  7. […] is a really interesting presentation full of good tips on starting a new business. So, what have I learned during the five months […]

  8. Diane Says:

    Awesome presentation Jussi- you’re a great speaker! Thanks for sharing!


  9. Fantastic presentation Jussi! While reading your presentation it was like looking into the past of our company and glancing the near future at the same time. Great job and good luck with Everplay!

  10. Alexei Rush Says:

    & what about the product?
    the start up is good. but you product are you running?


  11. Hey Jussi! Great stuff, as always!
    In this industry, you sure walk on air.


  12. Alexei, we are announcing our first product in 1-2 months time, so stay tuned =).

    Thanks again everybody for your encouraging feedback! I’m confirmed to speak at the Nordic Game in May in Malmö, and I’ll be doing an updated version of this presentation there.

    If you have any requests on what topics to cover in the next iteration, please let me know!


  13. Great presentation! Thanks for sharing.

  14. Jarkko Viinamäki Says:

    Great presentation Jussi! It’s amazing how much you have accomplished already during your career! Great work!


  15. If you would like to get much from this article then you have to apply these techniques to your won weblog.


Leave a Reply

